One Thankful Child

Standard

You never know, on Thanksgiving day, what a child will be grateful for . . .

Excerpt from Growing Toward God: Life Lessons Inspired by the Wonderful Words of Kids, by Doreen Wright Blomstrand and Barbara J. Koshar (2008, Kregel Publications)

Growing Toward GodBy Barbara Koshar

Eight-year-old Sara shared her gratitude before our Thanksgiving meal. “I’m thankful for my mom and dad, my little sister, and this yummy dinner,” she said.

“And what are you thankful for, Renae?” I asked.

Five-year-old Renae sighed and then exclaimed, “I’m thankful that Tyrannosaurus rex is extinct.”

Our family broke out in laughter at her response. Several weeks before, we had observed full-size dinosaur replicas at the science center. After viewing these giants, Renae was relieved to learn she couldn’t be crushed beneath monstrous dinosaur feet because they no longer tromped the earth. Whew!

When I think of Renae’s response, I, too, am thankful that I haven’t had to face many of the gigantic disasters I often hear about. I have not successfully avoided them all. Difficult circumstances such as unemployment, serious illness, or the death of a loved one can seem like Tyrannosaurus rex, seeking to shake our faith and stomp out our joy.

Paul challenged believers with these words:

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances. (I Thessalonians 5:16-18)

I wish adversity were extinct, but I’ve learned I can live through it by praying for protection and strength. I’ve also learned I need to thank family and friends who embrace me when I’m fatigued, and to thank God, who uses difficult times to teach me to trust him.

Barbara J. Koshar

Barbara J. Koshar

All rights reserved. This story (titled In the Shadow of His Wings, in Growing Toward God: Life Lessons Inspired by the Wonderful Words of Kids) is reprinted at Parenting by Faith by express permission of Kregel Publications.

Note from Laurie: This book would make a fun Christmas gift or Mother’s Day gift for a parent or grandparent. Inside the book, you’ll see my endorsement: “Using poignant and humorous quotes from children to teach spiritual truths is both unique and clever. Growing Toward God is a fun and insightful read!”  So . . .  can you tell I’m a fan?

Can you relate? What are your thoughts on this? I'd love for you to COMMENT.

